Daily pro wrestling history (04/20): AWA Wrestlerock; Hollywood Hogan wins WCW World Title


Chicago, Illinois:
– Martin “Farmer” Burns defeated Evan “Strangler” Lewis for the American Heavyweight Title 


Mobile, Alabama:
– The Great Bolo and Joe McCarthy defeated Bobby and Don Fields for both the Gulf Coast and Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Titles


Nagoya, Japan:
– Rusher Kimura and Thunder Sugiyama defeated Tank Morgan and Stan Stasiak to win the TWWA World Tag Team Titles


Orlando, Florida:
– Argentina Apollo and José Lothario defeated Dale Lewis and The Missouri Mauler for the NWA Florida Tag Team Titles

St. Joseph, Missouri:
– K.O. Kox and Killer defeated Bob Geigel and The Stomper to win the Central States NWA North American Tag Team Titles


Tampa, Florida:
– Jack Brisco defeated Terry Funk to win the NWA Florida Television Title  


Kansas City, Kansas:
– The Stomper defeated Bob Orton
– Rufus R. Jones defeated Blackjack Black
– Danny Little Bear defeated Benny Ramirez
– Terry Martin fought Billy Howard to a draw
– Omar Atlas defeated Frank Diamond
– Elimination Match: The Stomper & Danny Little Bear & Rufus R. Jones & Omar Atlas defeated Blackjack Black & Bob Orton & Benny Ramirez & Frank Diamond
– North American Tag Team Champions Chati Yokouchi & Yasu Fuji defeated Harley Race & Black Angus (w/ Percival A. Friend) via DQ in three falls (referee: The Viking)


Dallas, Texas:
– Toru Tanaka defeated Kevin Von Erich for the NWA American Heavyweight Title 


Cleveland, Ohio:
– AWA Tag Team Champions Road Warriors beat Brett Sawyer & Buzz Sawyer
– Loser Leaves town: Pez Whatley beat Rip Rogers
– Ronnie Garvin beat Bob Roop
– Lumberjack match: Thunderbolt Patterson beat Kareem Muhammad
– Italian Stallion beat Ron Starr
– Joel Deaton beat Paul Diamond
– Bill Irwin beat Ben Alexander


AWA WrestleRock: Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– Cage Match: Road Warriors beat Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin
– Cage Match: Verne Gagne beat Sheik Adnan
– Greg Gagne & Jimmy Snuka beat King Kong Brody & Nord the Barbarian
– Nick Bockwinkel beat AWA Champion Stan Hansen dq
– Scott LeDeoux beat Larry Zbyszko dq
– AWA Tag Team Champions Curt Hennig & Scott Hall beat Bill Irwin & Scott Irwin
– Sherri Martel won a 10 woman Battle Royal
– Rick Martel no contest Harley Race
– Shohei Baba beat Bulldog Bob Brown
– Barry Windham & Mike Rotundo beat Fabulous Ones
– Tiger Mask (Misawa) beat Buck Zumhofe
– Buddy Rose & Doug Somers beat Midnight Rockers
– Colonel DeBeers beat Wahoo McDaniel dq
– Brad Rheingans beat Boris Zhukov


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Chick Donovan defeated Soul Train Jones (Virgil/Vincent) for the CWA International Heavyweight Title
– Jerry Lawler defeated Austin Idol in a chain match to win the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title
– The Mercenaries were also awarded the CWA International Tag Team Title vacated by Jimmy Snuka and J.T. Southern


Jacksonville, Florida: 
– Arn Anderson and Tully Blanchard defeated Lex Luger and Barry Windham for the NWA World Tag Team Titles

Osaka, Japan:
– Mitsuo Momota defeated Shinichi Nakano to win the AJPW World Junior Heavyweight Title 


Bayamón, Puerto Rico:
– King Kong defeated TNT (Savio Vega) for the WWC Television Championship 
– Super Medic III won the WWC Caribbean Heavyweight Title from Scott Hall 
– Ricky Santana won the WWC World Junior Heavyweight Title by defeating Mr. Pogo 


Tokyo, Japan:
– Akira Taue defeated Steve Williams to win the annual AJPW Champion’s Carnival tournament

Memphis, Tennessee:
– Jeff Jarrett defeated Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title 

Caguas, Puerto Rico:
– Jim Steele defeated Ricky Santana for the WWC Television Title 
– Carlos Colón won the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title from El Bronco

ECW Hostile City Showdown: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:
– The Dudley Boyz (Buh-Buh Ray and D-Von (with Big Dick and Sign Guy Dudley)) fought The Pitbulls (#1 and #2 (with Francine)) to a no-contest 
– Taz (with Bill Alfonso) defeated Devon Storm by countout 
– Axl Rotten pinned Little Guido (with J.T. Smith) 
– The Sandman (with Missy Hyatt) and ECW World Television Champion 2 Cold Scorpio defeated The Bruise Brothers (Ron and Don)
– Brian Lee pinned Tommy Dreamer 
– Sabu pinned Rob Van Dam 
– ECW World Heavyweight Champion Raven (with The Blue Meanie and Stevie Richards) pinned Shane Douglas (with Kimona Wanalaya) to retain the title


WWF Revenge of the Taker: Rochester, New York:
– The Legion of Doom (Animal and Hawk) defeated WWF Tag Team Champions The British Bulldog and Owen Hart by disqualification 
– Savio Vega (with Crush) defeated WWF Intercontinental Champion Rocky Maivia by countout 
– “Double J” Jesse James pinned Rockabilly (with The Honky Tonk Man) 
– WWF Champion The Undertaker pinned Mankind (with Paul Bearer) to retain the title
– Steve Austin defeated Bret Hart by disqualification 
– Doug Furnas and Philip LaFon defeated The Godwinns (Henry and Phineas)
– Hunter Hearst Helmsley pinned Goldust


WCW Monday Nitro: Colorado Springs, Colorado:
– Konnan (with Vincent) defeated Chris Adams
– The Barbarian (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Wayne Bloom
– WCW Cruiserweight Champion Chris Jericho defeated Juventud Guerrera to retain the title
– Goldberg defeated WCW United States Heavyweight Champion Raven to win the title
– La Parka defeated Ultimo Dragon
– Chris Benoit defeated Curt Hennig (with Rick Rude) by disqualification
– Hammer and Saturn fought to a double-countout
– Buff Bagwell and Scott Steiner defeated Public Enemy (Johnny Grunge and Rocco Rock)
– WCW World Television Champion Booker T defeated Psychosis to retain the title
– Lex Luger defeated Brian Adams (with Vincent)
– Hollywood Hulk Hogan defeated WCW World Heavyweight Champion Randy Savage to win the title


Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico:
– Shane the Glamour Boy won the IWA World Hardcore Title from Ricky Banderas 
– Banderas won the title back later from Shane
– Anarchy defeats Super Crazy for the IWA Intercontinental Heavyweight Title


Tokyo, Japan:
– Keiji Muto defeated Kensuke Sasaki to win the annual AJPW Champion’s Carnival tournament

British Columbia, Canada:
– Charlie Haas and Rico defeated WWE Tag Team Champions Rikishi and Scotty 2 Hotty to win the titles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *